The Committees 2021

During the Model African Union Bayreuth Conference 2021, the delegates will be able to discuss the following topics in one of the three Committees:

Permanent Representatives Committee (PRC)

The Permanent Representatives Committee (PRC) includes representatives of all AU Member States, aiming to facilitate communication between the African Union Commission (AUC) and Member States’ capitals. It conducts the day-to-day business of the AU on behalf of the Assembly and Executive Council, reports to the Executive Council, prepares the Council’s work and acts on its instructions. Therefor it makes recommendations on areas of common interest to Member States and drafts decisions to be constitutionalised and implemented by the Council. Furthermore, it monitors the implementation of the AU budget.

Topic A:

Promoting of local products within Economic Partnership Agreements

Topic B:

Organic agriculture (agroecology) or industrialized farming (biotechnology)?- Generating sustainable food production for the coming generations in times of climate change

The Economic, Social and Cultural Council (ECOSOCC)

The Economic, Social and Cultural Council was established by the Assembly of the African Union as an advisory organ in 2004. Its major tasks are the discussion and promotion of the objectives, visions and policies of the AU and the provision of consultancy services. As the ECOSOCC is composed of representatives of African Civil Society Organisations (CSOs), it provides the opportunity of active public participation in AU policy making and thus functions as a link between the AU and the people. Each member state is represented by two CSOs. The members of the ECOSOCC are working in ten different committees, which focus on various focal points at the reginal or continental level, for instance Social Affairs & Health, Trade & Industry, Peace and Security and Diaspora. The ECOSOCC has its own General Assembly.

Topic A:

Africa Outer Space strategy- An indigenous space capability, in both the private and the public sectors, for a coordinated, effective and innovative African-led space programm

Topic B:

Pan-African reparations for the ecological and climate debt of the global North

STC on Education, Science and Technology

Specialised Technical Committees (STCs) are thematic Committees and are answerable to the Executive Council. Each STC is composed of Member States’ ministers and senior officials responsible for sectors falling within their respective areas of competence. The STC on Education, Science and Technology works on elaborating, adopting and monitoring implementation of the African Continental Strategy for Education and the Continental Strategy for Technical and Vocational Education and Training; ensuring Member States provide education data to the African Observatory for Education and the African Observatory of Science, Technology and Innovation (AOSTI); establishing performance indicators for and receiving reports from relevant national, regional and continental agencies and institutions; monitoring implementation of the Science, Technology and Innovation Strategy for Africa (STISA 2024); engaging with Member States, international development partners and the African Diaspora to mobilise resources; overseeing the promotion, coordination and strengthening of programmes in response to the Sustainable Development Goals.

Topic A:

Supporting local technologies and creating opportunities for local-entrepreneurs

Topic B:

Creating opportunities for the increasing high school graduates and young academics in the African labour market